

# **PIBC BOARD MEETING – SUMMARY NOTES**

# November 4, 2017

The following is a summary of the meeting of the Board of Directors of the Planning Institute of British Columbia (PIBC), held on the date noted above, and is provided for the information of members. A copy of this summary was also published and circulated in PIBC's quarterly magazine Planning West.

On November 4<sup>th</sup>, 2017 the PIBC Board of Directors met in Vancouver.

# President

Andrew Ramlö MCIP, RPP provided an update on various recent activities, including: noting that the Alberta Professional Planners Institute had moved away from automatic concurrent Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) membership for its members beginning as of 2018.

# **Board & Governance**

The Board reviewed and approved the final, revised 2017-2019 Strategic Plan.

The Chairs of the Institute's Professional Conduct Review Committee and the Climate Action Task Force provided brief updates on recent activities for their respective committees or groups.

The Board approved the appointment of the following members to the Institute's Governance & Nominating Committee for the current term: Michelle Kam MCIP, RPP; and Robert Roycroft MCIP, RPP.

The Board approved the appointment of the following members to the Institute's Policy & Public Affairs Committee for the current term: Sarah Dal Santo MCIP, RPP; Taryn Hayes MCIP, RPP; Yazmin Hernandez-Banuelas MCIP, RPP; Heather Kauer MCIP, RPP; Aaron Rodgers MCIP, RPP; Megan Shaw MCIP, RPP; Sean Tynan MCIP, RPP; and Peter Lipscombe (Student).

The Board approved the appointment of the following members to the Institute's Professional Standards & Certification Committee for the current term: Brian Miller MCIP, RPP; and Claire Negrin MCIP, RPP.

The Board approved the appointment of the following members to the Institute's Member Engagement Committee for the current term: Bruce Simard MCIP, RPP; Clarissa Huffman (Candidate); Mairi Bosomworth (Candidate); and Craig Busch (Student).

It was also reported that the following members had been appointed to the Institute's operational committees for the current term:

Communications Committee: Jada Basi MCIP, RPP.

Continuous Professional Learning Committee: Deborah Jensen MCIP, RPP, Sara Muir-Owen MCIP, RPP, and Clarissa Huffman (Candidate).

Awards & Recognition Committee: Anthony Kittel MCIP, RPP, and Leanne Taylor MCIP, RPP.

# **Administration & Finance**

Executive Director, Dave Crossley, reported on ongoing and key activities at the PIBC Office.



The Board reviewed the Institute's unaudited 2017 year-to-date finances for information. The Institute continues to maintain a healthy financial position, with current operations largely keeping within overall budget objectives.

The Board reviewed, for information, the final 2018 Schedule of Membership Fees and the final 2018 Operating Budget, as approved and adopted in September 2017.

# Member Programs & Services

The Board discussed potential plans to commemorate the Institute's 60<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2018. It was noted that an ad hoc committee had been struck in September 2017. The Board also approved the appointment of the following individuals to the Institute's ad hoc PIBC 60<sup>th</sup> Committee for the current term: Lesley Cabott MCIP, RPP (Chair); Andrew Ramlö MCIP, RPP; Patricia Dehnel MCIP, RPP; Daniel Huang MCIP, RPP; and Dave Crossley (Executive Director).

#### **National Affairs**

The Board reviewed and approved the 2018 agreements with CIP regarding membership renewal and fees. It was noted that CIP had declined PIBC's suggestion to eliminate CIP membership fees for Student members, and that, in accordance with the Board's decision to eliminate student fees in September 2017, the Institute would be covering the cost of the CIP portion of membership fees for Student members beginning in 2018.

#### **Committee Reports & Business**

Professional Standards & Certification: The Board approved the admission of a number of new members, and a number of membership transfers and changes, and approved the extension of membership eligibility for a number of Candidate members, in order for them to complete the requirements to become Certified members.

#### **Local Chapters**

Okanagan-Interior: The Board approved the appointment of Paul Dupuis MCIP, RPP (Co-Chair); Shannon Tartaglia MCIP, RPP (Co-Chair); Blake Laven MCIP, RPP (Co-Secretary); and Michelle Kam MCIP, RPP (Co-Secretary) to the Chapter Executive for the current term.

## **Other Business & Correspondence**

The Board reviewed an update report on Asset Management BC, including the draft Partnership Agreement and options for PIBC's potential participation and involvement. The Board approved becoming a signatory partner to the Asset Management BC Partnership Agreement, and committed to an annual financial contribution for three years. The Board also directed the Institute's representative to the Asset Management BC Partnership to report back to the Board about the partnership's activities at least twice per year.

The Board also approved providing a one-time sponsorship contribution for the 2018 UBC SCARP Symposium.

#### Next Meeting(s)

It was noted that the next meeting would be held Friday, January 26, 2018 in Vancouver.

## Contact Us:

The Planning Institute of British Columbia #1750 – 355 Burrard Street



Vancouver, B.C. V6C 2G8 Canada Tel: 604.696.5031 Toll-free: 1.866.696.5031 Fax: 604.696.5032 Email: info@pibc.bc.ca